Mgahinga Gorilla National Park is situated in the corner of south-western Uganda in Kisoro District, 10 km south of Kisoro town, bordered by the Republic of Rwanda to the south and the DRC to the west. It covers an area of 33.7 km2 and lies at latitude 1° 23′ South and longitude 29o 39′ East. MGNP is contiguous with Parc National des Virunga (240 km2) in the DRC, and Parc National des Volcans (160 km2) in Rwanda, all forming the proposed transboundary PA known as the Virunga Conservation Area covering an area of 434 km2.

The park includes three of the Virunga volcanoes – Mt Muhabura (4,127m), Mt Gahinga (3,474m) from which the park derives its name, and Mt Sabyinyo (3,645m). It lies in Bufumbira county, Nyarusiza and Muramba sub-counties and adjacent to the three parishes of Gisozi, Rukongi and Gitenderi.